Welcome
Login / Register

Step Into The Scottish Borders

Featured video

Thanks! Share it with your friends!

URL

You disliked this video. Thanks for the feedback!

Sorry, only registred users can create playlists.
URL


Added by Admin in Visit Scotland
53 Views

Description

The Scottish Borders is bursting with picturesque valleys, landscapes and rolling hills that will transport you back in time to a world full of history and heritage.

Uncover the historic heartland of the Scottish Borders through atmospheric Abbeys, grand stately homes and historic castles. Explore Jedburgh, Kelso, Dryburgh and Melrose Abbeys for a lesson on the region’s turbulent past, or join in with traditions at the popular Common Ridings in Kelso, Hawick and Selkirk.

Venture to the adrenaline-filled outdoors for mountain biking at 7stanes in Glentress & Innerleithen and Newcastleton, try your luck fishing in the River Tweed, or enjoy sailing, fishing and walking at St Mary’s Loch.

Taste some of the area’s local produce at restaurants, such as Hergés on the Loch, Firebrick Brasserie, and Seasons! Or explore the region’s historic breweries and try a beer at Born in the Borders, Tempest Brewery, Traquair Brewery, or Broughton Ales.

Take a trip on one of Scotland’s Great Scenic Railway Journeys – the Borders Railway – to witness some of the Borders’ most picturesque sites. Onward bus travel from Galashiels allows you to explore more of the Scottish Borders, giving you the perfect view of the passing countryside.

For adventure, historic sites and beautiful landscapes, step into the Scottish Borders!

Scottish Borders: https://www.visitscotland.com/destinations-maps/scottish-borders/
Abbotsford House: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/abbotsford-p250661
Melrose Abbey: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/melrose-abbey-p247611
Kelso Abbey: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/kelso-abbey-p247581
Dryburgh Abbey: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/dryburgh-abbey-p255561
Jedburgh Abbey: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/jedburgh-abbey-p247621
Dawyck Botanic Garden: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/dawyck-botanic-garden-p249681
Thirlestane Castle: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/thirlestane-castle-p248661
Bowhill House and Country Estate: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/bowhill-house-country-estate-p250561
TweedLove Bike Festival: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/events/tweedlove-bike-festival-p1346181
Kailzie Gardens: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/kailzie-gardens-p249951
St Mary’s Loch: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/towns-villages/st-marys-loch-p1421421
St Abb’s Head NNR: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/st-abbs-head-national-nature-reserve-p251921
Return to the Ridings: https://www.visitscotland.com/see-do/events/common-ridings/
Heritage Hub: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/cousland-smiddy-heritage-hub-p1337161
Border Textiles Towerhouse: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/borders-textile-towerhouse-p252911
Hawico Cashmere: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/shopping/hawico-scotland-p252981
Lochcarron of Scotland: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/shopping/lochcarron-visitor-centre-p256671?_ga=1.168122145.1214230749.1481040081
Hergés on the Loch: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/food-drink/herges-on-the-loch-p311481
Born in the Borders: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/food-drink/born-in-the-borders-p1221951
Firebrick Brasserie: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/food-drink/firebrick-brasserie-p1234641
Seasons: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/food-drink/seasons-p1227891
Cocoa Black: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/food-drink/cocoa-black-chocolate-boutique-p1079201
Giacopazzi’s Ice Cream: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/food-drink/giacopazzis-p311721
Borders Railway: https://www.visitscotland.com/see-do/tours/railway/borders-railway/
Gunsgreen House: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/gunsgreen-house-p256531
River Tweed Fishing: http://www.fishpal.com/Scotland/Tweed/index.asp?dom=Tweed
Teviot Game Fare Smokery: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/food-drink/teviot-smokery-and-watergardens-p253421
Broughton Ales: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/broughton-ales-p1054651
Traquair Brewery: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/traquair-house-brewery-p1059061
7stanes Glentress: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/glentress-7stanes-p317561
7stanes Newcastleton: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/newcastleton-7stanes-p317551
Robert Smail’s Printing Works: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/robert-smails-printing-works-p254991
Borders Book Festival: https://www.visitscotland.com/info/events/the-borders-book-festival-p1350951
Velvet Hall Alpacas: http://velvethall-alpacas.co.uk/
Lindean Mill Glass
https://www.visitscotland.com/info/shopping/lindean-mill-glass-p572511
Scottish Borders Art Glass
https://www.visitscotland.com/info/shopping/scottish-borders-art-glass-p572531

Join the conversation: https://community.visitscotland.com/
Like our Facebook page: https://goo.gl/28ZRdn
Follow us on Instagram: https://goo.gl/OPzBb6
Say hello on Twitter: https://twitter.com/VisitScotland

Show more

Tags: Borders

Post your comment

Comments

Be the first to comment
RSS